Cast and Creative Team Announced for Allegro

The full cast and creative team for the European premiere of Rodgers & Hammerstein’s Allegro, running at the Southwark Playhouse from the 6th August until the 10th September, has been confirmed. 

Allegro new final poster.jpg

Allegro originally opened on Broadway in 1947 and was Rodgers and Hammerstein’s third collaboration for the stage following Oklahoma! and Carousel.

Directed by Thom Southerland and produced by Danielle Tarento, this new production will star Katie Bernstein, Julia J Nagle, Dylan Turner, Susan Travers, Gary Tushaw, Steve Watts, Cassandra McCowan, Matthew McDonald, Louise Olley, Benjamin Purkiss, Jacqueline Tate, Samuel Thomas, Leah West and Matthew Woodyatt.

Meanwhile, the creative team includes choreography by Lee Proud, set design by Anthony Lamble, costume design by Jonathan Lipman, lighting design by Derek Anderson and sound design by Andrew Johnson.

Set in 1905 in a small Midwestern town, the wife of the local doctor has given birth to a baby boy Joseph Taylor, the musical follows 40 years of his life from childhood to the marriage altar. It is a story in which one man discovers the value of family, money isn’t everything and ultimately home is where the heart is.

Allegro runs at the Southwark Playhouse from the 5th August until the 10th September. For more information and to book tickets visit:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: