NEWS: Nominees for the 18th Annual WhatsOnStage Awards Announced

The nominations for the 18th WhatsOnStage Awards have been announced in ceremony which took place in central London today. Here’s a full list of who is nominated in which category…



Theatre audiences from across the country have voted for a wide range of theatrical talent, spanning musicals and plays from both the West End and smaller venues.

This year’s shortlist sees Bat Out of Hell and 42nd Street leading the shortlist with eight nominations each – including Best New Musical and Best Musical Revival.

Here is the full list of nominations:

Best Actor in a Play:

• Andrew Garfield, Angels in America
• Andrew Scott, Hamlet
• Bryan Cranston, Network
• David Tennant, Don Juan in Soho
• Martin Freeman, Labour of Love

Best Actress in a Play: 

• Eve Best, Love in Idleness
• Imelda Staunton, Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?
• Olivia Colman, Mosquitoes • Natalie Dormer, Venus in Fur
• Tamsin Greig, Labour of Love

Best Actor in a Musical: 

• Andrew Polec, Bat Out of Hell
• Danny Mac, Sunset Boulevard
• Hadley Fraser, Young Frankenstein
• John McCrea, Everybody’s Talking About Jamie
• Tom Lister, 42nd Street

Best Actress in a Musical: 

• Carrie Hope Fletcher, The Addams Family
• Christina Bennington, Bat Out of Hell
• Janie Dee, Follies
• Josie Walker, Everybody’s Talking About Jamie
• Ria Jones, Sunset Boulevard

Best Supporting Actor in a Play: 

• Adrian Scarborough, Don Juan in Soho
• Fra Fee, The Ferryman
• Nathan Lane, Angels in America
• Nathan Stewart-Jarrett, Angels in America
• Peter Polycarpou, Oslo

Best Supporting Actress in a Play: 

• Denise Gough, Angels in America
• Imogen Poots, Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?
• Jessica Brown Findlay, Hamlet
• Juliet Stevenson, Hamlet
• Sheila Atim, Girl from the North Country

Best Supporting Actor in a Musical: 

• Chris Howell, 42nd Street
• Dex Lee , Five Guys Named Moe
• George Sampson, Our House
• Rob Fowler, Bat Out of Hell
• Ross Noble, Young Frankenstein

Best Supporting Actress in a Musical: 

• Clare Halse, 42nd Street
• Danielle Steers, Bat Out of Hell
• Lucie Shorthouse, Everybody’s Talking About Jamie
• Tracie Bennett, Follies
• Zoe Rainey, An American in Paris

Best New Play: 

Labour of Love
The Ferryman

Best Play Revival: 

Angels in America
Don Juan in Soho
Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?
Witness for the Prosecution

Best Musical Revival: 

42nd Street
Fiddler on the Roof
Five Guys Named Moe

Best Direction: 

• Dominic Cooke, Follies
• Jay Scheib, Bat Out of Hell
• Marianne Elliott , Angels in America
• Robert Icke, Hamlet
• Sam Mendes, The Ferryman

Best Choreography: 

• Andrew Wright, Five Guys Named Moe
• Christopher Wheeldon, An American in Paris
• Drew McOnie, On the Town
• Fabian Aloise, Our House
• Randy Skinner, 42nd Street

Best Costume Design: 

• Bob Crowley, An American in Paris
• Gary McCann, La Cage Aux Folles
• Peter McKintosh, On the Town
• Roger Kirk, 42nd Street
• Vicki Mortimer, Follies

Best Set Design: 

• Bob Crowley, An American in Paris
• Bunny Christie, Ink
• Douglas W Schmidt, 42nd Street
• Jon Bausor, Bat Out of Hell
• Vicki Mortimer, Follies

Best Lighting Design: 

• Natasha Katz, An American in Paris
• Patrick Woodroffe, Bat Out of Hell
• Paule Constable, Angels in America
• Paule Constable, Follies
• Peter Mumford, 42nd Street

Best Video Design: 

• 59 Productions, An American in Paris
• Duncan McLean, Big Fish
• Duncan McLean, Labour of Love
• Tal Yarden, Hamlet
• Tal Yarden, Network

Best Off-West End Production: 

La Ronde
The Wild Party
Working the Musical
Yank the Musical

Best Regional Production: 

Our House
Sunset Boulevard
The Addams Family
The Band
The Hypocrite

Best Original Cast Recording 

Dear Evan Hansen
Girl from the North Country
Les Miserables

Best Show Poster: 

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child
The Phantom of the Opera

Best West End Show: 

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child
Kinky Boots
Les Miserables
The Phantom of the Opera

Voting for the awards is open now, with the winners being announced in a ceremony at the Prince of Wales Theatre on 25 February 2018. To cast your vote visit:

To book tickets to the ceremony in February visit:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: