NEWS: Shortlist for the Wellcome Book Prize 2018

The shortlist for this year’s Wellcome Book Prize has been announced, celebrating the best books that illuminate people’s encounters with health, medicine and illness.

Wellcome Book Prize 2018 Shortlist 5.jpg

Chaired by artist and writer Edmund de Waal, this year’s judging panel have selected a varied shortlist which includes one novel, one memoir and four non-fiction books, with five having been  written by women and four are debuts.

The shortlist is as follows:

·      Stay With Me by Ayọ̀bámi Adébáyọ̀ (Nigeria) Canongate Books

·      The Butchering Art by Lindsey Fitzharris (USA) Allen Lane, Penguin Press

·      With the End in Mind by Kathryn Mannix (UK) William Collins, HarperCollins

·      To Be a Machine by Mark O’Connell (Ireland) Granta Books

·      Mayhem: A memoir by Sigrid Rausing (UK/Sweden) Hamish Hamilton, Penguin Books

·      The Vaccine Race by Meredith Wadman (USA/Canada) Doubleday, Transworld

Talking about the news Edmund de Waal commented on behalf of the judging panel: “The demand of judging the Wellcome Book Prize is to find books that have to be read, books to press into people’s hands, books that start debates or deepen them, that move us profoundly, surprise and delight and perplex us, that bring the worlds of medicine and health into urgent public conversation: books that show us what it is to be human. These are six powerful books to read and share.”

The Wellcome Book prize celebrates the best new books that engage with an aspect of medicine, health or illness, showcasing the breadth and depth of our encounters with medicine through exceptional works of fiction and non-fiction. Previous winners include Maylis de Kerangal (author) and Jessica Moore (translator) for Mend the Living in 2017, Suzanne O’Sullivan for It’s All in Your Head in 2016, Marion Coutts for The Iceberg in 2015, Andrew Solomon for Far from the Tree in 2014, Thomas Wright for Circulation in 2012, Alice LaPlante for Turn of Mind in 2011, Rebecca Skloot for The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks in 2010 and Andrea Gillies for Keeper: Living with Nancy – a journey into Alzheimer’s in 2009. The winner for the 2018 Wellcome Book Prize will be announced in April.

For more information about the prize visit:



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: