NEWS: Nominations for The South Bank Sky Arts Awards 2018 Announced

The nominations for this years The South Bank Sky Arts Awards have been confirmed, celebrating the wide range of creative talent in the arts. 


Now in its 22nd year, The South Bank Sky Arts Awards 2018 winners will be announced at a ceremony at The Savoy Hotel on Sunday 1st July to celebrate the best of the arts world over the past twelve months.

Hosted by Melvyn Bragg, the awards represent the entire spectrum of the arts, with categories for TV Drama, Classical Music, Theatre, Comedy, Dance, Film, Visual Art, Pop, Literature and Opera.

Among the nominations, Christopher Nolan’s  war epic Dunkirk is nominated alongside the likes of Paddington 2 and independent filmmaking success Lady Macbeth in the film category. Elsewhere, Olivier Award-winning productions The Ferryman and Follies are nominated in the Theatre category alongside The Jungle, while newcomer Dua Lipa is nominated in the Pop category, alongside Stormzy for Gang Signs & Prayer and Loyle Carner for Yesterday’s Gone. The TV Drama category pitches the explosive Line of Duty against period pieces The Crown and Howards End.

It has also been confirmed that artist Yinka Shonibare MBE, Fellow of the Royal Academy, has been commissioned to design this year’s award, which he describes as an expression of how he supports the importance of the Arts as they remain of value to our humanity.

The full list of nominations are as follows:

Mat Collishaw – Thresholds, Somerset House
Paula Rego – The Boy Who Loved the Sea and Other Stories, Jerwood Gallery
Rose Wylie – Quack Quack, Serpentine Sackler Gallery
Catastrophe – Channel 4
Inside No. 9 – BBC Two
This Country – BBC Three
The Ferryman – Royal Court / Gielgud. Produced by Sonia Friedman Productions, Neal Street Productions & Royal Court Theatre Productions
Follies – National Theatre
The Jungle – A Young Vic and National Theatre co-production with Good Chance Theatre. Commissioned by the National Theatre
Lady Macbeth
Paddington 2
Maliphantworks – Russell Maliphant Company
Flight Pattern – The Royal Ballet
Pina Bausch’s Le Sacre du printemps (The Rite of Spring) – English National Ballet
Gurrelieder – BBC Philharmonic and the Hallé
Enescu’s Oedipe – London Philharmonic Orchestra
This is Rattle – London Symphony Orchestra
Home Fire – Kamila Shamsie
Ma’am Darling: 99 Glimpses of Princess Margaret – Craig Brown
La Belle Sauvage: The Book of Dust Volume One – Philip Pullman
Pelléas and Mélisande – Scottish Opera
Hamlet – Glyndebourne
Albert Herring – The Grange Festival
Stormzy – Gang Signs & Prayer
Loyle Carner – Yesterday’s Gone
Dua Lipa – Dua Lipa
Line of Duty – World Productions / BBC One
The Crown – LEFT BANK Pictures / Netflix
Howards End – Playground / BBC One
Pop – Nubya Garcia 
Comedy – Sophie Willan
TV Drama – Alex Lawther
Dance – Dickson Mbi
Theatre – Monica Dolan
Classical Music – Oliver Zeffman
Opera – Rachel Redmond
Literature – Imogen Hermes Gowar
Film – Francis Lee
Visual Art – Heather Agyepong
The winners of The South Bank Sky Arts Awards will be announced in a ceremony taking place at the Savoy Hotel on the 1st July. 
%d bloggers like this: