The renowned opera company will tour Peter Brook and Marius Constant’s production of Bizet’s masterpiece from the 22nd September. 

image002.jpg

Sung in French with Pop-Up Opera’s signature ‘silent movie’ captions in English, this stripped back production of La Tragédie de Carmen will be directed by John Wilkie.

The intense and tragic tale of the four characters who lie at the heart of the original story plays out in a thought-provoking drama of unhinged love and jealousy. Actions are not without consequences, and the stark reality of the repercussions for Don José are laid bare as the story unfolds before you in a series of his tormented flashbacks.

Talking about the news of the production director John Wilkie said: “Peter Brook’s incarnation of Prosper Merimee’s Carmen has fascinated me for many years – everything is trimmed away from the grander adaptations with which many are accustomed to focus on the intense interaction, the tragedy of the four protagonists. This production will be set at the end of the Spanish Civil War and we will investigate Page | 2 the psychological elements that lie at the heart of this retelling of Carmen’s tale. I am immensely looking forward to bringing life to La Tragédie de Carmen with this very exciting team.”

The production is set to star Chloe Latchmore as Carmen, Satriya Krisna  and Cliff Zammit Stevens who will share the role of Don José, Alice Privett as Micaёla and James Corrigan as Escamillo.

Meanwhile, La Tragédie de Carmen will feature designs by Anna Bonomelli and is produced by Fiona Farmer, Gail Rimeikaite-Soffientini and Clementine Lovell.

The tour dates for the production are as follows:

Sat 22nd Sept Court Gardens Farm, East Sussex

Tues 25th Sept Asylum Peckham

Weds 26th Sept Brunel Museum

Sat 29th Sept Vera Fletcher Hall, Thames Ditton

Sun 30th Sept East Finchley Arts Festival

Tues 2nd – Weds 3rd Oct Minack Theatre, Penzance ,Cornwall

Fri 5th Oct The Subscription Rooms, Gloucestershire

Tues 9th Oct Ugly Duck, Bermondsey

Thurs 11th Oct NSPCC at Hope Church Islington, London

Sat 13th Oct Beaulieu Abbey, Hampshire

Sun 14th Oct Farrington Hall, Port Regis School, Dorset

Thurs 18th Oct Bath Assembly Rooms,

Sat 20th Oct Black Mountains Barns, Herefordshire,

Sun 21st Oct Breast Cancer Haven at Lyde Court, Herefordshire,

24th Oct Masonic Temple, Andaz Hotel, London,

Thurs 25th Oct South Downs Centre Memorial Hall, West Sussex,

Sat 27th Oct Anne of Cleves Barn, Essex,

Sat 4rd Nov Court Gardens Farm, East Sussex,

Sat 10th Nov Lancaster Brewery –

Fri 16th Nov Fitzwilliam College, Cambridge,

Sat 17th Nov Lourdes Hall, Harpenden, Hertfordshire,

Tues 20th Nov Water & Steam, Kew,

Fri 23rd Nov Grittleton Village Hall, Wiltshire

For more information and to book tickets visit: https://www.popupopera.co.uk/productions/la-trag%C3%A9die-de-carmen/