This special edition of the film musical is set to be released on the 1st December 2023.

Craft Recordings have announced it will be celebrating Rodgers & Hammerstein’s The Sound of Music with multiple expanded, remixed, and remastered reissues of the beloved film soundtrack which will be available in multiple formats from the 1st December. It is available to pre-order now.

This special edition of the soundtrack will be available as a brand new Super Deluxe Edition (4-CD/1-Blu-Ray Audio box set and digital) and will feature 40 previously unreleased tracks, collecting every musical element from the film for the very first time, along with instrumentals of each song, plus 11 never-before-heard alternate takes from the cast. Meanwhile, the accompanying Blu-Ray Audio disc features the full score in hi-res audio as well as a new Dolby Atmos® mix of the original 16-track soundtrack for an immersive listening experience.

The box set will also include new, in-depth liner notes by the acclaimed writer, preservationist, and director/producer Robert Wise’s associate Mike Matessino, who also remixed and remastered the album from the original multi-track tapes. In his detailed essay, which delves deep into the making of the film and all of its music, Matessino writes, “You will hear what you’ve heard before, famous songs with the mellifluous tones of Dame Julie Andrews leading the way, but the experience has been transformed beyond what the 1965 soundtrack album offered – with extensions to the songs, a brilliantly arranged underscore, and even some segments not used in the completed version of the film.”

Meanwhile, the classic 16-track 1965 album will also be released (with newly remixed and remastered audio) on standard and HD digital and Dolby Atmos, as well as several international versions (Spanish, German, French, and Italian) available on standard digital.

Now available to stream and download is a  never-before-released alternate version on the film’s iconic opening track “Prelude / The Sound of Music” featuring Julie Andrews and cast, available along with the newly remastered original soundtrack version of the song. 

As well as the classic songs “My Favorite Things,” “Do-Re-Mi,” “The Sound of Music” and “Edelweiss,” the reissues will now include previously unreleased highlights “The Little Dears,” which combines “I Have Confidence” and “My Favorite Things,” and plays as the first cue after Maria meets the von Trapp children. “New Governess,” which was ultimately not used in the film, is also a play on these two songs. The first extended piece of underscore, “The Gazebo,” follows Liesl to her rendezvous with a messenger boy, Rolf, and leads into “Sixteen Going on Seventeen.” One of the more significant music cues is “The Captain Apologizes,” which bolsters the moment when the Captain first hears his children sing “The Sound of Music.” The song features elements of the aforementioned song, plus “My Favorite Things” and “Edelweiss” – all of which represent the Captain and Maria.

To pre-order the album visit:


%d bloggers like this: