It has been announced that the Eastenders actor will join the cast to play Fiyero in the upcoming UK tour of the hit musical. 

Aaron Sidwell. Photo Credit Darren Bell
(c) Darren Bell. 

Currently playing  Steven Beale in the serial drama, Aaron Sidwell has also appeared in many musicals previously including Grey Gardens (Southwark Playhouse), American Idiot (Arts Theatre, London) and the leading role of ‘Michael Dork’ in Loserville The Musical(West Yorkshire Playhouse and in the West End).

Full casting for the 2018 tour will be announced next month.

Telling the untold story of the witches of Oz, Wicked will tour to Bristol Hippodrome (Wednesday 31 January – Saturday 3 March 2018); Liverpool Empire (Wednesday 7 – Saturday 31 March 2018);Birmingham Hippodrome (Wednesday 4 – Sunday 29 April 2018); Edinburgh Playhouse (Tuesday 8 May – Saturday 9 June 2018); Leeds Grand Theatre (Wednesday 13 June – Saturday 7 July 2018); Dublin Bord Gáis Energy Theatre (Tuesday 17 July – 26 August 2018); Sunderland Empire (Thursday 6 – Saturday 29 September 2018); Southampton Mayflower Theatre (Wednesday 3 – Saturday 27 October 2018); Cardiff Wales Millennium Centre (Wednesday 31 October – Saturday 24 November 2018) and Manchester Palace Theatre (Tuesday 4 December 2018 – Saturday 5 January 2019). 

Currently the 16th longest running show in the West End, Wicked follows the story of profound friendship between two sorcery students and their extraordinary adventures in Oz, which will ultimately see them fulfil their destinies as Glinda The Good and the Wicked Witch of the West. Based on the best selling novel by  Gregory Maguire, the musical features songs such as ‘For Good’, ‘The Wizard and I’ and of course ‘Defying Gravity’.

The musical features music and lyrics by multi Grammy and Academy Award-winner Stephen Schwartz (Godspell, Disney’s PocahontasThe Hunchback of Notre Dame and Enchanted and, for DreamWorks, The Prince of Egypt)  adapted for the stage by Winnie Holzman (My So-Called Life). Musical staging is by Tony Award-winner Wayne Cilento and the production is directed by two-time Tony Award-winner Joe Mantello.

Wicked will embark on a UK tour from January 2018. For more information visit: https://www.wickedthemusical.co.uk/uk-tour/tour-dates

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s