Love London Love Culture’s Emma Clarendon rounds up some of her favourite reads of the year…

Circe by Madeline Miller: following on from her successful retelling of the story of Achilles, Madeline Miller puts another contemporary take on another memorable Greek myth. Written with great insight and filled with imaginative descriptions this is a memorable read.

Home Work: A Memoir of My Hollywood Years by Julie Andrews: written with surprising frankness, Julie Andrews takes readers through her film making career, while retelling extremely personal family problems that she has had to face over the years. But it is also consistently warm and tender with flashes of humour that makes this such an enjoyable read.

The Missing Sister by Dinah Jefferies: a tale of family and secrets, this latest novel from Dinah Jefferies is an engaging read from start to finish thanks to its combination of mystery, romance and vivid descriptions. Just a genuinely beautifully written book.

Death in a Desert Land by Andrew Wilson: this latest murder mystery from Andrew Wilson who cleverly places the famous author Agatha Christie right at the heart of the crime is filled with gripping twists and turns that keep you on the edge of your seat from the very beginning. What is also wonderful is the way in which the author uses biographical facts from Christies life to help create something completely refreshing an unique.

My Life with Michael: 10 Years of Thriller Live! By Gary Lloyd: ideal for fans of Michael Jackson or for those with a strong interest in the world of theatre. This engaging and fascinating book explores not only the singer’s legacy but also the work that went into to creating Thriller Live! – a show that still continues to play to audiences both in London and internationally.

Heroes by Stephen Fry: written with his usual witty and engaging style, Stephen Fry beautifully recounts the stories of the heroes of Ancient Greece to create a thoroughly entertaining read.

One Enchanted Evening by Anton Du Beke: filled with charm, elegance, romance and of course secrets this debut novel from the Strictly Come Dancing professional is exactly what you would want from him. Written with great attention to detail, this is a pleasingly romantic tale.

Jane Seymour: The Haunted Queen by Alison Weir: out of the Six Tudor Queens series that Alison Weir has written so far, this is perhaps my favourite. It offers a refreshingly different portrayal of both Jane Seymour and softens the personality of Henry VIII as well – offering a surprisingly tender outlook on their relationship.

The Hotel Where We Met by Belinda Jones: this quirky romantic story is very different from the other novels that Belinda Jones has written in the past. With a time travelling twist, it combines several love stories into one that spans across the decades – a really enjoyable read.

My Lemon Grove Summer by Jo Thomas: in need of some sunshine? then this lovely story of a community of random people put together unexpectedly is certainly one to read as they attempt to restore good fortune to a little Italian village.

Advertisements