Voting Now Open for Also Recognised Awards

Voting for the 2016 Also Recognised Awards, organised by My Theatre Mates is now open! Here is a list of the categories and the nominees for this year’s awards… 


Best Musical Direction: 

Kyle Riabko – Close to You, Menier Chocolate Factory & Criterion Theatre

Matt Spencer-Smith – Beautiful, Aldwych Theatre

Michael Bradley – Grand Hotel, Southwark Playhouse

Nicholas Skilbeck – Gypsy, Savoy Theatre

Nigel Lilley – Bend It Like Beckham, Phoenix Theatre

Theo Jamieson – High Society, Old Vic Theatre

Best Original Music: 

Cyndi Lauper – Kinky Boots, Adelphi Theatre

David Yazbek – Women on the Verge of a Nervous Breakdown, Playhouse Theatre

Howard Goodall – Bend It Like Beckham, Phoenix Theatre

Michael John LaChiusa – See What I Wanna See, Jermyn Street Theatre

Michael Webborn & Daniel Finn – The Clockmaker’s Daughter, Landor Theatre

Ross Clark & Matthew Strachan – The White Feather, Union Theatre

Best Ensemble Performance

Barbarians – Tooting Arts Club

Bugsy Malone – Lyric Hammersmith

Carmen Disruption – Almeida Theatre

Crouch, Touch, Pause, Engage – Out of Joint, Arcola Theatre

Grand Hotel – Southwark Playhouse

Songs for a New World – The St. James Theatre

Best Solo Performance

Derren Brown – Miracle, Palace Theatre

Lucy Roslyn – The State vs John Hayes, King’s Head

Michael Urie – Buyer & Cellar, Menier Chocolate Factory

Philip Bretherton – Tony’s Last Tape, Bridgehouse

Tanya Moodie – Joanne, Soho Theatre

Zoë Wanamaker – All On Her Own, Branagh Theatre Company, Garrick

Best Musical Cabaret

Alexandra Silber – Crazy Coqs

Desperate Divas – St James Studio

Frances Ruffelle – Crazy Coqs

Miss-Leading Ladies – The St. James Theatre Studio

Scott Alan & Cynthia Erivo – The St. James Theatre Studio

Shoshana Bean – Hippodrome Casino

London Newcomer of the Year

David Moorst – Violence & Son, Royal Court Upstairs

Diana Nneka Atuona (playwright) – Liberian Girl, Royal Court Upstairs

Jake Davies – Barbarians, Tooting Arts Club

Kyle Riabko – Close to You, Menier Chocolate Factory & Criterion Theatre

Lucy Penrose – Through the Mill, London Theatre Workshop

Natale Dew – Bend It Like Beckham, Phoenix Theatre

Best Shakespearean Production

As You Like It – National Theatre, Olivier

Henry V – RSC, Barbican Theatre

Henry V – Lazarus, Union Theatre

Measure for Measure – Young Vic

The Merchant of Venice – Shakespeare’s Globe

The Winter’s Tale – Branagh Theatre Company, Garrick

Best Twitter Engagement

@BushTheatre – Bush Theatre

@curiousonstage – The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time, Gielgud Theatre

@DonmarWarehouse – Donmar Warehouse

@MatildaMusical – Matilda The Musical, RSC, Cambridge Theatre

@New_Adventures – New Adventures

@PhantomOpera – The Phantom of the Opera, Her Majesty’s Theatre

Best Show Poster

Future Conditional – Old Vic

Hapgood – Hampstead Theatre

McQueen – St James & Theatre Royal Haymarket

Oppenheimer – RSC, Vaudeville Theatre

Showstopper – Apollo Theatre

The Mother F**ker with the Hat – National Theatre, Lyttelton

Best Show Trailer

Branagh Theatre Season – Garrick Theatre

Carrie – Southwark Playhouse

Golem – Trafalgar Studios

Husbands & Sons – National Theatre, Dorfman

Liberan Girl – Royal Court

Peter Pan Goes Wrong – Apollo Theatre

Theatre Event of the Year

Almeida Greeks season

Election night broadcast of James Graham’s The Vote at the Donmar Warehouse

Frenzy around Benedict Cumberbatch’s Hamlet run at the Barbican

Large & tiny-scale Sweeney Todds running simultaneously in West End (ENO & Tooting Arts Club)

Noma Dumezweni triumphing in Linda after 11th hour takeover at Royal Court

Opening of Kenneth Branagh’s year-long Branagh Theatre season

The Also Recognised Awards returns for a second year, as part of My Theatre Mates (founded by Terri Paddock and Mark Shenton) to celebrate talent that is not necessarily rewarded in other theatre awards.

As well as the usual 10  categories, this year’s awards also features a brand new category for Best Musical Cabaret, as well as the UK’s first Best Musical Direction award.

The nominations for the awards were drawn up by Shenton and Paddock, with input from Andrew Keates and Mike Dixon and other members of the My Theatre Mates collective of independent theatre bloggers and commentators.

Voting in the awards opens today and will continue until Friday 25th March. Winners will be announced in early April. Vote here.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: